Hero image

The White Bull

Cawthorne, Barnsley S75 4AT United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Open Today:

Quick Facts About The White Bull

The White Bull place has several strengths that make it a popular choice for visitors. Firstly, the quality of the food is highly praised by many customers. The burger options, such as the Farmer Robert burger with Yorkshire Blue cheese, are especially well-received and described as delicious. The beef stew in a Yorkshire pudding is also mentioned as a tasty dish. The fact that the food is sourced from Canon Hall Farm adds to the appeal, as it ensures fresh and local ingredients are used.
The White Bull place is also considered to be very kid-friendly. Visitors note that it is easy to navigate with a pram and that the restaurant is spacious enough to accommodate families comfortably. This is especially important for a location that is part of a farm and soft play area, as many families with young children are likely to visit. The fact that the toilets are clean is also mentioned as a positive aspect, considering that cleanliness is highly valued in any establishment.
Prompt service is another strength of The White Bull place. Visitors mention that the staff are friendly, helpful, and efficient. Orders are quickly taken and delivered to the table, which is appreciated by customers. Additionally, many customers appreciate the fact that they can pay before eating, as it saves them from waiting for the bill. This system is particularly valued by those who have been regular visitors to the place for a long time.
Another strength of The White Bull place is the variety in the menu. According to one visitor, the breakfast menu is more adventurous than what is typically found in cafes. This suggests that the place offers unique and interesting options that cater to different tastes and preferences. The quality of the meals is also commended, and visitors feel that they receive good value for the money they spend.
Despite its strengths, The White Bull place does have some weaknesses that have been identified by customers. One common complaint is the price of the children's meals, which many feel are too expensive for the portion size. It is also noted that the children's meals do not come with a drink, which is seen as a drawback.
Another issue raised by customers is the cost of parking. Visitors find it frustrating that they have to pay for parking despite spending a significant amount of money at the cafe. Some also find the prices of the food to be higher compared to other cafes, although they acknowledge the quality of the food as being worth the extra cost.
Some customers have expressed dissatisfaction with the service they received at The White Bull place. For instance, one visitor mentions that the staff seemed overwhelmed and apologised frequently for delays in the kitchen. They also felt that their order was incorrect and that the cutlery provided was dirty. The fact that the cafe does not take bookings is mentioned as a possible reason for the long queues and frustrations experienced by customers.
In conclusion, The White Bull place has several strengths that contribute to its popularity. The quality of the food is praised, and the restaurant is considered to be kid-friendly. Prompt service and a varied menu are also appreciated by customers. However, there are some weaknesses, including high prices for children's meals, extra charges for parking, and occasional issues with service quality. By addressing these weaknesses, The White Bull place can continue to attract and satisfy its customers.

Best PlaceJuice Reviews

On a day out to the farm we visited the White Bull for lunch, which was by far more favourable than eating in the restaurant at the soft play. Wasn't overly sure what to expect but was actually surprised on quality not meal. I had the farmer Robert burger with Yorkshire Blue cheese, and itvwas actually very nice. One of the group also had the beef stew in a Yorkshire pudding which equally looked quite nice! We were all satisfied with our meal.
I did think that the kids meals at £5+ was a little expensive, it really was a kids portion and would have been nice if it had come with some sort of drink.
Restaurant was clean and they were manging to tidy tables fairly quickly.
Visited for lunch today, you can easily get a pram in here and it’s very kid friendly which is great. The toilets are pretty dirty though, and it’s a bit annoying that you have to pay for parking when you are going to spend like £25+ in the cafe. Prices are quite a bit higher than other cafes but the food is nice.
Wowsers - what a burger! The Farmer Robert with cheddar was delicious. Others had scampi, a Panini, a chicken burger, and toad in the hole, and all loved them. Washed down with a beer or soft drinks. Not the cheapest, but fantastic quality and most of the food sourced from Canon Hall Farm. Simply find a table, order at the counter, and they bring the for too you. Prompt service when we visited at the weekend.
Fantastic meal, garlic mushrooms to start, Farmer Roberts burger for main, both were delicious ???? staff friendly and helpful, definitely recommend ????
Had a family breakfast here. Breakfast menu was more adventurous than many cafe, more a cafe bar than a greasy spoon.
Food was good, the sausage, direct from the farm, were excellent
The cafe is large, quite busy but far from crowded so it was very comfortable for our group of 6.
Cafe appears to do (early?) eveneing meals and there is a bar.
Meals are great value for the quality and they arrive really quickly after ordering. I love that you pay before so you don't have to wait for the bill. If you're a new comer it might be confusing. We have been going quite often for the past couple of years. Only complaint is queue can often be long, but tbh that's not the staffs fault but the fault of others either not remembering their table number or taking ages with their order.
The website says no booking required, but maybe if they took bookings they'd be able to staff appropriately? It was super busy and diners were clearly frustrated. I heard staff apologise a lot for the kitchen being backed up and I felt sorry for them. My partner enjoyed his breakfast but they got my order wrong and made no offer to rectify, gave us filthy cutlery (still had a spoonful of the last persons meal in it), and my partner had finished his meal by the time the drinks arrived. Also I think its really stingy when you order and pay for 2 teas and they only bring milk for one and that provided you like very strong tea, such an obvious attempt at costcutting just makes you seem cheap cheap cheap. Good cafes don't do this, and because you have to order at a counter with a 30 min queue, not easy to rectify either.
Fabulous Christmas meal tonight with family and special friends. All food choices and service was excellent. Lovely atmosphere. Highly recommend.

Place Pictures

Küçük Resim 1 Küçük Resim 1 Küçük Resim 1 Küçük Resim 1 Küçük Resim 1 Küçük Resim 1 Küçük Resim 1 Küçük Resim 1

The White Bull Info


Service options
  • Outdoor seating
  • Dine-in
Health and safety
  • Staff required to disinfect surfaces between visits
  • Great tea selection
  • Wheelchair-accessible car park
  • Wheelchair-accessible entrance
  • Beer
  • Healthy options
  • Wine
Dining options
  • Dessert
  • Good for kids
  • Casual
  • Cosy
  • Groups
  • Accepts reservations