Hero image

The Plough Inn

+44 1709 872995
144 Melton High St, Wath upon Dearne, Rotherham S63 6RG United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Open Today: -

Quick Facts About The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn has both strengths and weaknesses based on the comments provided.
Starting with the strengths, one notable aspect is the cleanliness and accessibility of the toilets. This is an important factor for patrons and indicates that the venue prioritizes cleanliness and hygiene. Additionally, the pint of John Smith's received positive feedback, suggesting that the pub offers a good selection of beverages and maintains the quality of their drinks.
Parking was easy at the front of the pub according to a comment, which is a convenience for customers. This ease of access can attract more visitors and make their experience more enjoyable.
The fire in the pub was also mentioned as a positive aspect, particularly on a cold day. This suggests that the pub creates a cozy and welcoming atmosphere, which can enhance the overall experience for customers.
Another strength mentioned is the fantastic looking beer garden. A well-maintained and appealing beer garden can be a major draw for customers, especially during warmer months. It provides an outdoor space for relaxation and enjoyment.
Moving on to the weaknesses, one key issue mentioned in a comment is the lack of food service at The Plough Inn. While they may serve drinks and snacks like crisps, the absence of a food menu may deter potential customers who are looking for a complete dining experience. This is a significant drawback as it limits the pub's appeal to a wider audience and may result in missed revenue opportunities.
Another criticism highlighted the behavior of the staff. According to the comment, they were too busy talking to friends and did not prioritize serving customers. This lack of customer service can leave a negative impression on visitors, potentially deterring them from returning in the future. Additionally, the comment emphasized that the staff's attitude was rude and unprofessional. Unprofessional behavior can tarnish the pub's reputation, impacting its success and customer loyalty.
Furthermore, one reviewer expressed dissatisfaction with the staff's handling of a wedding booking inquiry. They felt that the staff should have prioritized serving at the bar before dedicating time to discussing wedding details. This raises concerns about the pub's ability to handle multiple tasks simultaneously and suggests potential inefficiencies in their service.
In conclusion, The Plough Inn has several strengths, including clean and accessible toilets, easy parking, a lovely beer garden, and positive comments about their drinks. However, there are notable weaknesses, such as the absence of a food menu, concerns about staff behavior and professionalism, and potential inefficiencies in customer service. These weaknesses might need to be addressed to improve the overall experience and reputation of The Plough Inn.

Best PlaceJuice Reviews

We called today hoping to get fed. Unfortunately they dont serve food at the pub. We stayed for a drink and a packet of crisps. Parking was easy at the front of the pub. The toilets are clean and accessible. My husband said the pint of John Smith's was lovely. The fire was welcomed as it is cold today.
Lovely looking pub, fantastic looking beer garden, shame about the staff. We were stood at the bar waiting to be served
, but the staff were too busy talking to friends to even bother, even turning around to see us waiting and then continued to talk amongst themselves !
Hope they survive the coming recession, but doubtful if they treat paying customers like this.
Only gave one star because I can't give zero. Very rude and unprofessional.
Following a reply from the owner, my review is now this.
I wish the pub well in the future, but I was still unimpressed with the staff. Not only was there a young man fiddling with the dishwasher the whole time we were at the bar, who himself never acknowledged us, but if you have customer's wishing to discuss wedding bookings etc, which will obviously take time, then have the manners to request you serve a single customer at the bar before then committing such time for the booking. Considering the pub was very busy, obviously one bar staff isn't enough.
Still very unprofessional.
Went for Afternoon tea, it was fabulous, excellent food fantastically prepared and presented, we all absolutely loved it, a lovely pub with equally lovely friendly staff and is spotlessly clean and welcoming.
Very reasonably priced, in fact it’s the best afternoon tea I’ve had, can’t wait to go back again.
Highly recommended.
Lovely pub, staff are friendly. Would recommend to anyone
Lovely pub friendly staff with an outstanding beer garden
Lovely quaint pub , friendly staff, lovely areas to sit out in , clean toilets !
Afternoon tea excellent can't fault it service very good and pleasant nothing too much trouble we'll be back really good value. ????
Quality local, lots of atmosphere and nice beer garden. Best thing is the hot pork scratching machine!

The Plough Inn Info


Service options
  • Outdoor seating
  • Dine-in
  • Quiz night
  • Wheelchair-accessible car park
  • Wheelchair-accessible entrance
  • Wheelchair-accessible toilet
  • Alcohol
  • Beer
  • Cocktails
  • Dancing
  • Food
  • Food at bar
  • Spirits
  • Wine
  • Toilets
  • Wi-Fi
  • Casual
  • Cosy
  • Groups
  • Accepts reservations
  • Debit cards